Canada lost Nash, but has three new faces

Another three players will represent Canada at the 2004 IIHF World Championship: forwards Patrice Bergeron, Brendan Morrison and Glen Murray.


Team Canada General Manager Jim Nill also announced that previously named forward, Rick Nash will not attend the 2004 World Championship due to injury. Nash had not yet joined. Canada will play a tune up game on Thursday, April 22, in Prague, versus the Czech Republic, and will open the Championship on April 25 versus Austria.


Bergeron, an NHL rookie with the Boston Bruins, will be representing Canada for the first time by attending the IIHF 2004 World Championship.  He becomes the second youngest player (18 years, 9 months, 1 day) all-time to play for Canada at the World Championship, Kariya was the youngest at 18 years, 6 months and 3 days. Morrison, of the Vancouver Canucks, and Murray of the Bruins, both have previously represented Canada one time before (Morrison: 2000 World Championship; Murray: 1998 World Championship).


Morrison, 28, had 22 goals and 38 assists and a plus-16 rating in 82 games this season and also added two goals and three assists in Vancouver's seven-game loss to Calgary in the first round of the NHL playoffs. Murray, 31, had 32 goals and 28 assists and a plus-17 rating in 81 games this season. He added two goals and one assist in Boston's seven-game loss to Montreal in the first round of the playoffs.


Canada's roster now stands at 22 players - three goaltenders, seven defensemen and twelve forwards.  Additional player(s) will be announced over the next few days. Joel Quenneville will lead Canada behind the bench as Head Coach, while Mike Babcock (Mighty Ducks of Anaheim) and Tom Renney (New York Rangers) are the assistant coaches.


The official broadcaster of the Hockey Canada, TSN/RDS, will have live TV coverage of the Men's Worlds, beginning with Canada's first game of the championship on April 25.


Canada's roster

Goalkeepers: Marc Denis (Columbus Blue Jackets), Jean-Sebastien Giguere (Mighty Ducks of Anaheim), Roberto Luongo (Florida Panthers). Defensemen: Eric Brewer (Edmonton Oilers), Jay Bouwmeester (Florida Panthers), Willie Mitchell (Minnesota Wild), Derek Morris (Phoenix Coyotes), Scott Niedermayer (New Jersey Devils), Nick Schultz (Minnesota Wild), Steve Staios (Edmonton Oilers). Forwards: Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins), Daniel Briere, Jean-Pierre Dumont (both Buffalo Sabres), Dany Heatley (Atlanta Thrashers), Shawn Horcoff (Edmonton Oilers), Brendan Morrison (Vancouver Canucks), Jeff Friesen (New Jersey Devils), Brenden Morrow (Dallas Stars), Glen Murray (Boston Bruins), Rob Niedermayer (Mighty Ducks of Anaheim), Ryan Smyth (Edmonton Oilers), Justin Williams (Carolina Hurricanes).

[ Back ]